

Press Release 30 August 2013

PRIZE WINNERS OF AGC LAW REFORM ESSAY COMPETITION 2013

- To raise awareness and interest in law reform work, the Attorney-General's Chambers (AGC), in collaboration with the National University of Singapore (NUS) and the Singapore Management University (SMU), organised the AGC Law Reform Essay Competition on 29 April 2013. The competition was open to:
- (a) full time students enrolled in the LLB or GLB programme at the NUS Faculty of Law;
- (b) full time students enrolled in the LLB or JD programme at the SMU School of Law; and
- (c) full time students studying Law as a second major in the SMU.
- 2. The purpose of the competition is primarily two-fold: (a) to raise awareness of law reform work in Singapore among students, particularly the work of the Legislation and Law Reform Division of AGC; and (b) to nurture an interest in analyzing and proposing reforms in selected areas of law.
- 3. Participants were invited to submit an essay (either individually or in teams of two) on the following topic: "How may the definitions of culpable homicide and murder in the Penal Code be reformed or improved?"
- 4. The closing date for submissions of essays was 26 June 2013. Of the essays short-listed, the competition judging panel comprising Mr Charles Lim (Parliamentary Counsel (Special Projects), AGC), Professor Simon Chesterman

(Dean, NUS Faculty of Law), Professor Yeo Tiong Min, SC (Dean, SMU School of Law), Ms Audrey Lim (Deputy Chief Legislative Counsel, AGC) and Mohamed Faizal (Deputy Public Prosecutor, AGC) decided to award prizes to the following participants:

First prize¹: Dierdre Grace Morgan (SMU)

Second Kok Jia An, Alwyn (NUS) and Makoto Hong Cheng

prize²: (SMU)

(team submission)

Third prize³: Chin Wan Yew Rachel (SMU) and Muk Chen Yeen

Jonathan (SMU) (team submission)

5. In addition to the prizes awarded, the competition judging panel also decided to commend the following participants for the quality of their essays:

- (a) George Goh Chong Teck (SMU) and Royston Tan Chu Zheng (NUS) (team submission); and
- (b) Leong Yee Ying Victoria (SMU) and Tay Wei Sheng Patrick (SMU) (team submission).
- 6. The participants referred to in paragraphs 4 and 5 were presented with certificates on 30 August 2013 (Friday) by the Attorney-General, during SMU's annual student awards ceremony.
- 7. The AGC, NUS and SMU extend their congratulations to all prize winners and the authors of the commended essays.

¹ Cash prize of \$1,500 and a 4-week internship with LLRD.

² Cash prize of \$1,000 and a 4-week internship with LLRD.

³ Cash prize of \$500 and a 4-week internship with LLRD.